January Wrap Up

January Wrap UpSo the first month of the new year is over and reading-wise it’s been a pretty great one! Actually it’s been one of the best reading months I’ve ever had probably! I read twelve books. TWELVE! Okay fine three of those were Graphic Novels so technically speaking there were nine books and three Graphic Novels, but still! That’s two books a week. Yeah, go me! February on the other hand is not looking as great so far… Just FYI…

Anyhow, enough with the rambling! Since this is quite a big number for one wrap up post I’ve decided to approach this a bit differently… I’m gonna tell you my opinion on each of the books I read in five sentences or less otherwise this post would get way to long!

So without further ado, let’s get started!

#1: “Sky Key” by James Frey
There is so much happening in this series to so many people and it took me a while to get back into the groove of things. I love this though. As confusing as it is sometimes it’s fast paced and exciting and I’m really looking forward to the last book in this trilogy.

#2: “The Fade Out, Vol. 1: Act 1” by Ed Brusker, Sean Phillips, Elizabeth Breitweiser
The art in this was really nice, but the story was sooooo damn slow. Also, I couldn’t care less about the characters. There too one-dimensional and not nearly as fleshed out as they could be.

#3: “Armada” by Ernest Cline
I LOVED “Ready Player One” so my expectations for this were very high. “Armada” was kind of a let down though. It was very slow in the beginning and although the pace picked up towards the end, it still didn’t get anywhere close to “Ready Player One” in my opinion.

#4: “Wonder Woman, Vol 1: Blood” by Brian Azzarello, Cliff Chiang, Tony Akins, Dan Green, Matthew Wilson, Jared K. Fletcher
Marry me, Diana! The artwork was great and the story was good! It was fast paced and kept you excited so I will definitely be continuing with this series!

#5: “The First Bad Man” by Miranda July
What exactly was that? I’m still so confused about this one! The relationship between the two main characters was the biggest, fastest and scariest roller coaster ride I’ve ever been on in my life. And I kinda disturbingly enjoyed it.

#6: “ODY-C, Vol 1: Off To Far Ithicaa” by Matt Fraction & Christian Ward
A gender bent version of the Odyssee set in space! Fuck yes! The art is stunning, the characters are amazing and the story is fantastic. I’m a sucker for ancient mythology retellings so this is right up my alley!

#7: “The Merciless” by Danielle Vega
God I hate you! I don’t even wanna say more about this here because I’ve written quite a long rant about this one. So if you wanna find out just how much I hate this you can have a look at this.

#8: “Room” by Emma Donoghue
his has been so hyped up in the bookish world and everybody seems to love this. I love Emma Donoghue’s writing and it was great reading a book from an entirely new perspective, but all in all I found this to be a bit underwhelming.

#9: “172 Hours on the Moon” by Johan Harstad
Very, very slow start. I had a hard time lumping through this in the beginning. Which is probably also because I didn’t really form any kind of connection to the characters. Then suddenly this got very creepy, very fast and that ending – jeeeeeeeez.

#10: “Curious Wine” by Katherine V. Forest
Predictable storyline, but I loved this. The writing was great, the characters were fantastic and the pacing was not too dull either. If you’re looking for a quick and fluffy read – this is perfect!

#11: “Afterworlds” by Scott Westerfeld
This one combines two completely different stories. The one about Darcy the novelist and the one about Lizzie, her protagonist of the book she is about to publish. I LOVED Darcy’s storyline. Couldn’t care less about Lizzie though, so those parts of the books got a bit neglected.

#12: “What I Talk About When I Talk About Running” by Haruki Murakami
My first Murakami and I gotta say, I really like this witting style. Wasn’t such a fan of the book itself, but that’s due to me not being a fan of nonfiction writing. I have some other Murakami books though, so those will be read quite soon.

 

How was your first reading month of the new year?

I hope you’re having a great Sunday evening, lovely humans!

Bildschirmfoto 2016-01-06 um 17.35.41

4 thoughts on “January Wrap Up

  1. Nine books is still no joke! You’ve had a busy month for sure. 🙂

    I listened to the audiobook of Room in January and absolutely adored it. Now I wonder if I would’ve liked it as much in the physical form. The cast of the audiobook did such a phenomenal job with it–the emotion and everything was all so good.

    And I just had to pop over and read your rant on The Merciless. What a mess! I really thought the synopsis of that book sounded amazing. Ugh.

    Anyway, great reading month!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve been thinking about trying out an audiobook for a while now… Somehow I think the experience won’t be the same… I’ve heard great things about some audiobooks though and like you said, if the cast is great it could be an amazing experience!
      I know!! I was so disappointed with it… I thought from the sound of it, it would be fantastic… 😦
      Thank you… 🙂 I’m quite amazed by how many books I managed to read… 🙂

      Like

Leave me your Thoughts

