The Greatest Misses of 2015 – Part I: The Books

You know the drill… Two parts – one with my least favourite books and one with my least favourite or most disappointing graphic novels, sorted in chronological order, yadi yadi yada… You can take a look at my favourite books and picture books if you want to refresh your memory.


#1: “Utopia” by Thomas More

Utopia CoverOne word: fucking BORING! Okay that were two words, but still… I mean I know this is considered a classic and all, but dear lord! NOTHING happens,
just lots of yapping about the societal structures of Utopia, which could have been so interesting, but this read like one gigantic list. And don’t get me wrong, I love my lists, but not when they’re 122 pages long.

 

#2: “The Pledge” by Kimberly Derting
The Pledge CoverThis was frustrating to me! I’m a language student, meaning I love languages and the concept of this sounded fucking amazing! The execution however was pretty poor. Also the thing is, once you’ve read one dystopian novel, you’ve read them all. From the very beginning I could tell you exactly what was going to happen in the end. When you already know from the get-go what the end is gonna bring, it gets real boring, real fast.

 

#3: “House of Leaves” by Mark Z. Danielewski
House of LeavesThis is another one that was so disappointing to me! I was expecting greatness and I got utter frustration! My two biggest fears were combined in this story namely the fear of darkness and the complete loss of control that comes with that. This book should have been scaring me shitless. It didn’t though. It only made me want to throw it across the room several times. I wrote a review on this, which you can read here!

 

#4: “The 5th Wave” by Rick Yancey
16101128Another one of those predictable reads! And one with the most boring characters ever! This put me to sleep several times whilst I was reading it. The main protagonist is a girl named Cassie, which is short for Cassiopeia, the constellation Cassiopeia. This is important! Remember that! It’s CASSIE for CASSIOPEIA! It will only be mentioned about a thousand more times… But don’t worry you’ll also get a backstory to explain why she has that name and why she has that nickname and you’ll get to hear everything about the constellation as well. Exciting, no? NO!
As to it’s predictability, this book checks all the points in the YA dystopian/sci-fi checklist. I figured out the big plot twist, which should have been the amazing what-the-fuck moment no one should have been expecting about two pages in when we shift to another character’s, namely Evan’s (pssst – he’s the love interest!) POV.

 

#5: “World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War” by Max Brooks
1993860What is this? I thought this would be an ass-kicking, fast-paced, action-packed story! This is one of the most boring books I’ve ever read! It was basically one gigantic Q and A questionnaire, which inherently is something very, very dry. I expected so much more out of this. I mean what you expect from a horror zombie survival story is action and suspense and maybe even some blood and gore and also, you know, actual zombies.
The story of this zombie war however is told from the perspective of the people who survived it. As in past tense. All the fighting and the action and the surviving has already happened so basically there’s a lot of “then this happened and then that happened” coming from lots of different people around the world. Which gives the author the freedom to completely forgo character development or actual story arcs, which is just an extremely lazy way to be telling a story in my opinion.

 

Have you read any of the books I mentioned? What did you think of them?

I hope you have a wonderful weekend, lovely humans!

Bildschirmfoto 2016-01-06 um 17.35.41

5 thoughts on “The Greatest Misses of 2015 – Part I: The Books

Leave me your Thoughts

