“The Merciless” by Danielle Vega

 

The MercilessRating: 1/5
Title: The Merciless
Author: Danielle Vega
First Published: 12 June 2014

Forgive us, Father, for we have sinned.

… this entire book is a sin, yeah!

 
So I’m sick and I couldn’t sleep last night so apparently I decided reading a “horror” book in the middle of the night was the best thing to help with that. I flew through this baby in two hours flat, but that has nothing to with it being extraordinarily good. Quite the opposite, which is so fucking disappointing! Let me give you the goodreads synopsis of this and you’ll see why I was actually really excited to pick this up.

Brooklyn Stevens sits in a pool of her own blood, tied up and gagged. No one outside of these dank basement walls knows she’s here. No one can hear her scream.
 
Sofia Flores knows she shouldn’t have gotten involved. When she befriended Riley, Grace, and Alexis on her first day at school, she admired them, with their perfect hair and their good-girl ways. They said they wanted to save Brooklyn. They wanted to help her. Sofia didn’t realize they believed Brooklyn was possessed.
 
Now, Riley and the girls are performing an exorcism on Brooklyn—but their idea of an exorcism is closer to torture than salvation. All Sofia wants is to get out of this house. But there is no way out. Sofia can’t go against the other girls . . . unless she wants to be next. . . .
 
In this chilling debut, Danielle Vega delivers blood-curdling suspense and terror on every page. By the shockingly twisted end, readers will be faced with the most haunting question of all: Is there evil in all of us?

Does that not sound so fucking awesome!? Well it isn’t.

I mean straight off, this official synopsis essentially spoils the plot of the entire book, which makes all of the author’s attempts at creating suspense and having chills run down your spine fruitless. The only chills I had whilst reading this were due to my shivering fit thanks to the fever I’m having.

I’ve seen this being compared to Mean Girls a lot and it really is EXACTLY like that movie. Only topped up with extreme religious beliefs and some very unnecessary gore. I didn’t find anything that was happening in this book scary or suspenseful at all. Gross, yes, but not scary.

Another thing I really didn’t like with this book is that one of my most hated tropes in all of bookish history can be found here and that is the “Absent Parent Syndrome”. Sofia’s mother is basically non-existent and very handily detached from her daughter’s life. The sequel to this book (yep, apparently there’s a sequel coming out this year) takes care of Mommy Dearest completely since she conveniently drops dead. Also, by the way, not a spoiler since the entire plot of the second book is again summarised on it’s goodreads page. Not only that, it’s in the mothereffing title oF THE BOOK! So no need to go out and get that one either. You can just read the title. Or you know, the blurb if you wanna get really in-depth with it…

The language is very simple, which is not a bad thing at all, and as I said, I flew through this, but the fact remains that this was supposed to be a Horror/Suspense book, but what it turned out to be in the end was cheesy and completely unbelievable!

And that ending! I mean, was this supposed to be a surprise? Did people really not see this coming? Because I saw that waving at me from miles away.

In the end “The Merciless” tries hard to be cool and edgy and something fresh, but really it just seems desperate.

 

Did you already read this book? If so, let me know what you thought of it!

I hope you’re having a very good day, lovely humans!

Bildschirmfoto 2016-01-06 um 17.35.41

9 thoughts on ““The Merciless” by Danielle Vega

  1. HAHA Someone really didn’t enjoy this book! I don’t think I have ever willingly reached for a horror before pair that with your not so glowing review and I think it’s safe to say I’ll definitely be giving this book a miss!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave me your Thoughts

