The Greatest Hits of 2015 – Part II: The Sequential Art

On Friday, I told you about my favourite books of 2015 and if you want to can refresh your memory about those right here. Today I wanna talk to you a bit about my favorite books filled with gorgeous illustrations.

Again, the order of my “ranking” is just the chronological order in which I read the books and Graphic Novels and if I’ve written a review or mentioned it in a wrap up, I will link those up for you.

 
#1: “The Sleeper and the Spindle” by Neil Gaiman & Chris Riddell
The Sleeper & The Spindle CoverI said it before and I will say it again every time I talk about this book: THIS IS THE MOST BEAUTIFUL THING I HAVE EVER SEEN! This is a fairytale retelling of Snow White and Sleeping Beauty combined and it was amazing! Snow White and Aurora are two of the fairytale characters I dislike the most, but Neil Gaiman put his own spin on them and it was fantastic! And Chris Riddell swiftly and permanently placed himself in my heart with his illustrations. They are just absolutely stunning and I show some of them as well as even more love for this book off in the first part of my January wrap up.

 

#2: “The Invention of Hugo Cabret” by Brian Selznick
Hugo Cabret CoverThis is one massive book, which is why I’ve put off reading this for quite a while. What makes it so big however is the fact, that this is a wonderful combination of text which is then complimented by page after page after page of incredible pencil drawings. I picked this up and flew through it! The story is sweet and magical and will tug at your heart strings in all the right ways. You can read a bit more of my thoughts on this in the first part of my March wrap up.

 

#3: “Saga, Vol. 1 – 5” by Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples
Saga Volume 1 CoverYes I’m cheating because I fucking love them all and I can’t single one out! There’s a lot of cursing and sex so this is definitely not something for the kids. I mean the very first phrase on the very first page is “Am I shitting?” and full blown nudity soon follows, so it’s not for the faint of heart. All of the f-bombs are being dropped everywhere and anytime which is great in my book! If you enjoy action packed and funny reads filled with great characters then this space opera is definitely up your alley! I’ve gushed about these some more in my March and April wrap ups.

 

#4: “Goth Girl and the Pirate Queen” by Chris Riddell
Goth Girl and the Pirate QueenThis might be just a teeny tiny book, which was published for World Book Day, but I adore this! I adore all the Goth Girl books and I did read Goth Girl and the Wuthering Fright as well last year, which is the third “full-blown” book in the Goth Girl series, but I just loved this tiny thing so much! It’s as sweet and filled with as many fabulous British puns as it’s bigger siblings! You can go to my April wrap up for more of the love for this as well.

 

And I don’t think #5 will come as a surprise to anyone. This is by far my favourite read of all of 2015 and it is:

#5: “Rat Queens, Vol. 1 & 2” by Kurtis J. Wiebe, Roc Upchurch & Stjepan Sejic
Rat Queens CoverOh you foul-mouthed, drug taking, ass kicking queens of sass how I love you! This is full of action and fantastically diverse characters, but my favourite thing about these Graphic Novels is the friendship between these wonderful ladies! I need more girl friendships in my books!!! Why is this not more of a thing? I want there to be a shitload of females in all of the books fiercely supporting each other in every fucking thing they do! And also: realistic body types for the fucking win!!! Some more fierce adoration is given to this in part II of my March wrap up.

 

Did you read any great and outstanding Graphic Novels, or comics, or just books with lots of pretty pictures in them as well last year?

I will be doing an entire post dedicated to my least favorite books and picture books as well because I feel like doing some shitting on the stuff I didn’t like so bear with me on that and be on the lookout for those posts!

I hope you’ve had a wonderful weekend, lovely humans!

Bildschirmfoto 2016-01-06 um 17.35.41

5 thoughts on “The Greatest Hits of 2015 – Part II: The Sequential Art

      1. The fifth was the weakest so far that’s true.. And I do realize the longer I’ve been away from the series that I don’t mind not immediately continuing on with the story.. I’m fine with patiently waiting for the next volume to come out. 🙂 However, like I said, still – as you are too – super excited to go on! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave me your Thoughts

