My Life In Books

Boy, it’s been a rather stressful time lately. Excuse the absence, lovely humans! I started a new field of study, which is basically – along with working in the evenings – taking up all of my time. But anywho – I won’t start to whine about being busy with a job and getting a decent education, because hashtag first world problem and instead I will do this fun thing now! Thank you so much, Ashley, for tagging me! Go say hello to her and give her some love because she is wonderful!

 

#1: Find a book for each of your initials.

My initials are A-E-M-K.

Alice's Adventures In WonderlandA: “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” (I mean, really, did you really expect anything else from me?)
E: “Elijah’s Mermaid” (absolutely loved this!)
M: “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” (same goes for this one!)
K: “Kochschule” (which means “cooking school” and I had to pick a freaking cookbook because apparently I own zero books starting with a “K”. What the fuck? I do love that cook book though…)

 

#2: Count your age along your bookshelf. Which book is it?

Wonder Woman_1So I’m 27 years old (Jeeeeesus H. Christ!) and number 27 on my bookshelf is this: “Wonder Woman, Vol. 1: Blood” by Brian Azzarello, Cliff Chiang &Tony Akins.

… and this will definitely be read really soon. Most likely tonight because I have some graphic novels that want to be read and I feel like tonight is a superhero graphic novel kinda night.

 

#3: Pick a book set in your city/state/country.

CarmillaCarmilla” by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu. I live in a region called Styria in Austria and this lovely vampiric read is set in exactly that region. I haven’t read it yet, but I think I will this month seeing as it’s the spooky season and a vampire read seems quite fitting.

 

 

#4: Pick a book that represents a destination you would love to travel to.

AmericanahCan I pick Hogwarts? Is that an option? No? Ok. Then “Americanah” by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie it is! I’ve seen quite a few countries in Europe, but I’ve never managed to go any further and I would especially love to travel to Africa one day.

 

#5: Pick a book that’s your favourite colour.

ArmadaI chose “Armada” by Ernest Cline, which I’m currently reading, because I really like this colour combination.

 

 

 

#6: Which book do you have the fondest memories of?

Tochter des Nils_2I was gonna go with the generic answer and say “Harry Potter, duh”, but actually it’s this one. “Mara, Daughter of the Nile” by Eloise Jarvis McGraw. This was one of my favourite books when I was younger and I don’t even know how many times I’ve read it. It’s one of the few books where I still vividly remember details of the story.

 

#7: Which book did you have the most difficulty reading?

Everything Is Illuminated CoverEverything is Illuminated” by Jonathan Safran Foer. This was so hard to read for me, because this book had three different storylines, set in three different timelines, but still being connected to each other. And I only enjoyed one of those storylines. The rest was boring af.

 

 

#8: Which book in your TBR pile will give you the biggest sense of accomplishment when you finish it.

1000 Years of Annoying the French_21000 of Annoying the French” by Stephen Clarke, just because I’ve been reading this damn thing for five years now and I’m still not done with it. I love Stephen Clarke and his writing and I love history, especially when it comes to the history of the Brits so I don’t know what it is about this book. Whenever I read it I really enjoy it and then I put it down and don’t pick it up again for a year or more. I mean, what even?!

 

This was a really cool tag, so thanks again, Ashley! I’m going to tag:

 

…. and YOU!

 

Also, I just really need to tell you that I just got home from a bookish flee market and bought some beautiful antique books and I’m so haPPY THEY ARE SO PRETTY I WANNA CRY and I am SO gonna be posting some pictures on my Instagram tomorrow (because it’s dark out now and those beauties deserve excellent lighting) because I’m so gonna show them off!

I hope you have a good night, lovely humans!

Signature

12 thoughts on “My Life In Books

  1. This looks like a super fun tag! Thanks for tagging me 🙂 I loved seeing all of your travel photos on Instagram! I’m super jealous. I’ve been to France and Italy but want to go to so many other countries in Europe. I need to check out the Mara, Daughter of the Nile. That looks like a good book and something I would love.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the colors of Armada as well! I really want to get my hands on a copy ASAP! 🙂
    I really enjoyed Miss Peregrine’s and I can’t wait to start Library of Souls this month.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave me your Thoughts

