I Have A Literary Dream…

… that one day, I will fill my entire apartment floor to ceiling with books! Preferably the prettiest of them all, which in my opinion are antiques. So when I was contacted by the lovely people of Invaluable, which is an online auction site with a huge selection of antique books, and they asked me if I wanted to put together my dream literary collection, of course I had to say yes!

This list could get very, VERY long so I’ll limit myself to picking my five most wanted to start off my dream collection.

 

#1: “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” by Lewis Carroll

Invaluable_2If you’ve been here for a while, you probably already know about the obsessive relationship I have with this one and you also know that there is never going to be any other number one book for me. Technically this is “Through the Looking Glass” because they currently don’t have “Alice in Wonderland” on auction, but Alice is Alice and I love both of them equally!! They are my favorite books of all time and having an antique edition of both or even just one in my ever growing Alice collection would be the dream. I would do quite a lot to achieve that dream too… I’m talking Game of Thrones style things here… Some maiming or killing… Maybe poking out some eyeballs..

 

#2: “The Big Book of Fairy Tales” edited by Walter Jerrold and illustrated by Charles Robinson

Invaluable_4I picked this one, because it has illustrations by Charles Robinson, which are incredibly beautiful, but I would love to own so many more fairy tale collections! Any sort of fairy tales in any language from any country in the world. Fairy tales are such a wonderful thing and no household and no literary collection should be without at least one volume of fairy tales in my opinion.

 

#3: “Dernières Oeuvres de Matisse 1950-1954. Verve, N. 35 – 36.”

Invaluable_5I love art and especially French artists like Toulouse-Lautrec and Renoir and also Henri Matisse. Books about art or collections of various art works would definitely be in my dream collection. I already own quite a few, and special editions or antiques would compliment those quite well.

 

 

#4: “The Wizard of Oz” by L. Frank Baum

Invaluable_1… as a stand in for any other children’s book ever! I ADORE children’s books and now that I’m getting older I’m ironically starting to read books for children again. Lot’s of Roald Dahl, some Dr. Seuss, some German children’s tales that I used to love and now am rediscovering. Books for children, preferably ALL THAT HAVE EVER BEEN WRITTEN EVER, are a must have in every bookish collection!

 

#5: “Umrisse Zu Goethe’s Faust, Gezeichnet Von Retzsch”

Invaluable_3Goethe’s “Faust” is one of the great German classics! We studied it relentlessly in school and it’s a fantastic and fascinating read. This particular lot is not the text itself, but a collection of illustrations done by Moritz Retzsch. This would combine my love for art and for German classical literature perfectly and would be a great addition to my dream collection.
Let me know in the comments which books you would absolutely love to have in your dream literary collection! Thank you again, Invaluable, for letting me dream about books for a while in such a fun way.

I hope you have a wonderful evening, lovely humans!

Signature

4 thoughts on “I Have A Literary Dream…

Leave me your Thoughts

