July Wrap Up – Part II

This is the second part of my July Wrap Up. You can take a look at the first part here.

 

ADSOM#5: “A Darker Shade of Magic” by V.E. Schwab

Rating: 3/5

Kell is one of the last Travelers and as such he is able to travel between parallel worlds. There is Grey London, which is dull and dirty and without any magic, ruled by the mad King George. There is Red London, which is thriving and lively. It’s ruled by a benevolent and kind royal family and filled with magic. Then there is White London, which is dangerous and ruled by whoever murdered their way to the throne and there is Black London, which was sealed off from the others.

Thieves, magic, crossdressing, kings and different versions of my favourite city? Hell YES! The concept of this really intrigued me, but unfortunately the story wasn’t as exciting as I imagined it to be. I found it very slow and the characters are very bland. The power-hungry twins Astrid and Athos, especially Astrid, were my favourite thing about this novel. I have a soft spot for the deranged and dangerous villains, it seems.
All in all this was a nice story, but since it wrapped up very nicely in the end and read almost like a standalone, I probably won’t be continuing with this series.

 

The Time Machine#6: “The Time Machine” by H.G. Wells

Rating: 1/5

Apparently classic literature is not my thing. I was pretty excited to be diving into some classic, old school Sci-Fi, but even though the concept of the story was really interesting, the execution was terrible!

The world of the future that is introduced to us through the Time Traveller didn’t excite me at all. On the contrary, it bored me to tears. The characters were very one dimensional and I couldn’t get into the writing at all. It seems that H.G. Wells was more interested in various ideas and concepts rather than developing an actual storyline and interesting characters. Most of them didn’t even have a name.

 

The Scorpio Races#7: “The Scorpio Races” by Maggie Stiefvater

Rating: 3/5

So so far we had multiple magical Londons, some time travel, and now we dive into a world with murderous horse races. Every year in November flesh eating and violent horses come out of the sea, which marks the beginning of the Scorpio Races, a race which not every one who enters survives. Sean Kendrick is the retiring champion and best trainer on the island and Puck Connolly never even meant to ride in the first place, but had no other choice.

I enjoyed the story and I really loved the atmosphere of this book! It’s very dark and eerie. The romance was subtle and well done and all in all the writing was extremely beautiful. The only real problem I had with this book was the pacing. It was way too slow and it took forever until something remotely exciting actually happened! But other than that, this was an entertaining read and I really enjoyed it.

 

The Girl with all the Gifts#8: “The Girl with all the Gifts” by M.R. Carey

Rating: 4/5

This book opens with a girl named Melanie sitting in her cell like she does every day. Sargent Parks comes in with two soldiers to take her to her class and while she gets strapped into her chair he keeps his gun trained on her the entire time.

This one had it all, and it especially had things I never knew I needed in my life! Experimentation on children, zombies and a friendship between a little girl and her teacher that is probably my favourite relationship in a book ever. The writing was great and there were a lot of unexpected twists and turns along the way. This is one book I highly, highly recommend!

 

And we’re done! YAY! This was everything I read in the month of July. Quite pleased with the number, seeing as the rest of the months this year mostly weren’t even half as good.

I hope you have a wonderful week, lovely humans!

Signature

4 thoughts on “July Wrap Up – Part II

  1. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy A Darker Shade Of Magic as much as some others! I still have to read it, although I’m trying to wait until the sequel is published. I really need to read The Girl With All The Gifts soon though! It sounds like such a great read…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave me your Thoughts

