Hype & Disappointment

We’ve all been there: A new book just came out and everyone is buzzing about it and loving it and you immediately go out and get that book and you’re so sure that you will love it because everyone else does!

And then you read it.

And you hate it.
Twilight_2

I actually experience this quite often. So often in fact that I’ve started putting off reading the books I’m excited for, because everyone loves them and that makes me scared that my expectations are too high (which they often are) and I end up hating the book even though I was so excited for it (which, as I said, often happens).

Then when I don’t like said hyped book I kind of feel like I’m the one who’s at fault here, and not the characters I just couldn’t connect to or the overly dramatic storyline that made me groan or the shitty writing that frustrated me to no end. I feel like I did something wrong and I need to apologise to everyone for not liking this thing that they love.

And that’s something that’s not supposed to happen! I shouldn’t feel like I need to be sorry for not liking something just because everyone else seems to do so. Tastes vary, opinions vary, and you shouldn’t ever feel sorry for what you don’t or do enjoy (although if your favourite book series is the 50 Shades trilogy I will admit that I do judge you a little bit, but I promise I love you regardless!).

Read whatever the hell you want to read. Enjoy whatever the hell it is you enjoy. And never ever apologise for not loving something just because everyone else does!

Fluttershy

I’m interested though, how do you guys feel about this whole hyped up books situation? How do you go into reading them? And what do you feel or do when you end up hating them?

I hope you have a wonderful weekend, lovely humans!

Signature

18 thoughts on “Hype & Disappointment

  1. I hate when that happens! Everyone is raving about it, so you think ‘I’LL LOVE THIS ONE FOR SURE’. If it’s just ‘meh’ I’m okay with it, but if I hate it or just strongly dislike it, I do wonder if I missed something :/ I get what you mean, I think it’s me too haha. But like you said, tastes vary! It would be boring if everyone loved the same books ^-^

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That has happened to me quite a few times as well (lately I’ve mostly been kind of staying away from the hyped ya books as they tend to be the most disappointing ones to me)

    I used to actually think that maybe I was missing something, but luckily have come to realise that no, I’m not missing anything about *insert overhyped book here* it’s just not for me and that’s okay.

    I just wish that people would stop judging based on someone maybe not liking a certain book. Sure it can be disappointng if someone hates your favourite book, but that doesn’t make them a bad person, it just means you both have different tastes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree! I have to admit that I’m sometimes being a bit judgmental myself when it comes to other people’s least favourite and favourite books , but I’m trying to keep it to a minimum. And sure sometimes I’m bummed when someone says they haven’t read or didn’t like books that I’ve loved and recommended to them, but I’m never personally offended by that and it’s really frustrating that some people are. -.-‘

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This happens to me so much! It always makes me so nervous to read super popular books. I think because it’s so hyped that maybe I try to find reasons to not like it. If I end up not liking a book, I always feel like maybe I am missing something, skipped over something, or maybe read it wrong. lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hype frustrates me so much! For example, when I read Gone Girl I was expecting to completely LOVE it because everyone else was going crazy for it. I thought it was good, but it didn’t blow my mind or anything like that. Hype always makes my expectations sky rocket, and not only is that unfair to me but it’s unfair to the book because I’m not going in with an open mind. While it’s great that people can talk about what they love on the internet, it’s not so great for hype!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I completely agree with you and even had a similar experience with Gone Girl! Hype is really damaging to the book and yourself I think. The more it’s hyped the less (like you said) open minded you are when you get into it.

      Like

  5. I hate the hype monster! There have been so many times when I’ve read a hyped up book and just thought “meh”. But I always wonder if I would have liked it more if I didn’t have people’s hype in the back of my mind while reading it. There have been a few that I was nervous to read but then after finally reading it thought that it deserved the hype. Others I have still been putting off until I can try to forget how nuts everybody was about the book. And some I avoid all together, unless I can get it from the library or something.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do the same – I push some of the books as far back in my bookshelves as possible until I forget about all the buzz surrounding them.. I want to go into every book completely unbiased and want to be able to form my own opinion without having those of other people already sitting in the front of my brain.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This is exactly how I feel! Every time I see a hyped book I’m like yes!! and then I read it and I’m like ??? that’s it! It wasn’t even that good! Or there’s all these books people are posting on Instagram and I”m like oh that doesn’t even sound good.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I tend to almost always disagree with the hype. I often feel like I’m the only one who didn’t love something and I just can’t understand what other people raved about so much. I’ve tried to stay away from the hype, but I almost always cave, so I’m just trying to keep expectations low so I’m not so disappointed.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I don’t listen to the hype. I’ll listen to what Booktubers and stuff say about the book then look into it myself. It happened twice that I really did not like the book I was expecting so much from and I was slightly disappointed by another so I don’t do that anymore. If I’ve heard it’s good, I’ll leave it a while before I go into it 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I look into every book before read it too, but I still often have that little hyped voice in my head that says “this is soooo great; everybody says so; you have to like it now” which always raises my expectations… 😉 But just like you, I started giving the hyped books some time before I read them.. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I don’t get that voice anymore. I was so disappointed with The Fault In Our Stars and The Book Thief, I don’t have that voice as prominent anymore 😛

        Liked by 1 person

Leave me your Thoughts

