One More Belated Wrap Up – Hello June

 

From Hell#1: “From Hell” by Alan Moore, Illustrated by Eddie Campell and Pete Mullins

Rating: 2/5

This was another graphic novel I had to read for my course and I was so excited for this initially. It sounds so wrong when I say this but I hope you guys understand what I mean by it – Jack the Ripper is my favourite serial killer. The whole mystery surrounding his person and his murders is incredibly fascinating to me.
This book, however, was really disappointing. First of all, it took me so freaking long to finish it, because this has over 500 pages. Secondly, the writing was good, but much too detailed. Scenes that could have played out on one single page dragged on for an entire chapter, so much so that I started skimming through them. Especially the fourth chapter was torture.
The illustrations were dark and eerie, which I really liked, but even with my glasses on and my nose practically touching the page, I was nearly unable to identify the writing. It was so freakishly small and destroyed the whole reading experience for me because sometimes I couldn’t read what was said at all and it frustrated me to no end.

 

 
Deadly Class#2: “Deadly Class, Volume 1: Reagan Youth” by Rick Remender, Illustrated by Wesley Craig and Lee Loughridge

Rating: 3/5

A school for assassins? HELL YEAH! Sign me up! This graphic novel was extremely hyped up so of course with my new found adoration for this genre of books I had to get it. Unfortunately, which happens quite a lot when the hype is strong, it didn’t live up to my expectations. The story was nice; it was fun and fast-paced and the art was beautiful, but nothing really spectacular or interesting happened. I do think I will continue with the series, though.

Deadly Class Art_1    Deadly Class Art_2

 

 

Scott Pilgrim#3: “Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life” by Brian Lee O’Malley

Rating: 2/5

This was the conclusion to my graphic course at uni and one of my friends from the course is the biggest fan of this manga series and the movie. When she talked out it, I immediately wanted to read it because she made it sound awesome and funny! And then I read it and thought, “really?” She was right, it was funny, but not my kind of funny. It’s very childish and very over the top and I found the characters so fucking annoying! The art style was really bland too so this is a series I will definitely not continue with!

 

 
The Assassin's Curse#4: “The Assassin’s Curse” by Cassandra Rose Clarke

Rating: 3/5

Pirates and Assassins and Magic, oh my! I liked this, but I am a little torn about it. The characters are very well written and I LOVE the fact that it focuses more on the action and the character development, then on the blooming romance, because we all know how much I hate the romance! What bothered me a bit, though, was that the story is very predictable and (even though I just said the romance stuff is well written) I don’t like the relationship between the main characters. I’m not a big fan of the “I set out to destroy you, but hey I’ll just fall in love with you instead, kay” trope. Overall it was an okay story and I will definitely read the second part of this duology.

 

 
Sex Criminals#5: “Sex Criminals, Volume 1: One Weird Trick” by Matt Fraction, Illustrated by Chip Zdarsky

Rating: 2/5

This, like “Deadly Class”, is so hyped up and loved by everyone in the bookish community. I’m the odd one out, though. I really didn’t like the storyline of this graphic novel. It’s so ridiculous, and not in a good way. It wasn’t engaging at all and I really couldn’t care less about any of the characters. No one really pulled me in enough. The art however is fantastic! It’s extremely beautiful and colourful, which is what I love!

Sex Criminals Art_1

Sex Criminals Art_2

I am so torn about whether or not I should continue with this, because I’ve heard it gets better. Please let me know if you’ve already rad the second volume and what you think of it!

 
That’s it for my June Wrap Up. Now I only need to put up the July one, which will come shortly (and probably in two parts, because I’ve read quite a few books in July) and then I’m all caught up again! 🙂

I hope you have a wonderful day, lovely humans!

Signature

Leave me your Thoughts

