The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

I found a tag recently that created by The Book Archer over on YouTube and even though I wasn’t tagged I’m gonna do this anyway because I really love me some unpopular opinions!

Oh, the controversy!

And even though this should be fairly obvious, I’m gonna point this out anyways: These are my opinions and mine alone! So basically if you feel offended by any of these answers, then I really couldn’t care less.

Also – there’s a slight chance of spoilers.

 

 

#1: A popular book or series that you didn’t like.

City of BonesThe Mortal Instruments” series by Cassandra Clare. I kind of liked the first three, even though I couldn’t really get into the story, but then the next three came out and I just flat out hated those! Well I hated numbers four and five and I have absolutely no intention of picking up the last book. You could tell that the only reason those were written was because Ms. Clare realised that she discovered a gold mine with this series.
Another very obvious choice for this question is “50 Shades of Grey” but I don’t even want to start getting into all the problems I have with this, because otherwise we would be here until Christmas.

 

#2: A popular book or series that everyone seems to hate but you love.

UgliesI really love the “Uglies” series by Scott Westerfeld, which seems to be somewhat unpopular in the bookish community. I seldom hear any good things said about it, but I thought that this series was excellent! I love how fast paced it is and I love the characters and the concept of the world. It’s very critical of today’s society and it’s ridiculous beauty standards and I want Tally to be my best friend!

 

#3: A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with or on OTP you don’t like.

Ruin and RisingWe could have had it aaaaaaaaaall, rolling in the deeeeeeeeeeep” but you had to be a dickhead and go fuck it up! Why did you pick the most one dimensional and boring dude on the planet when you could have had the freaking Darkling, man! What is wrong with you?!

 

 

#4: A popular book genre that you hardly reach for.

Contemporary and Romance. Or basically Contemporary Romance. I don’t like the lovely dovey “realistic” stuff. I prefer the magic and the action and the occasional deaths!

 

#5: A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

Let me refer back to question one here: the entire cast of characters of “The Mortal Instruments” series. Every single one of them annoyed the fuck out of me!

 

#6: A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

WatchmenFrom HellAlan Moore. He’s like a graphic novel god and everybody adores him and I’m just over here being all like “yeah, thank you but no thank you”. I recently read “Watchmen” and “From Hell” and I just can’t get into his work.

 

#7: A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing.

Ohhhh I have so many, but my three most hated ones are: one or both parents being missing, dead or simply never mentioned, the stereotypical pretty girl, who checks all the boxes of the western beauty ideal, that is constantly complaining about how ugly she is and last but not least the best friend falling in love with the main character.

 

#8: A popular book series that you have no interest in reading.

Twilight“. Sparkling vampires. Need I say more?

 

#9: The saying “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or TV show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

LOTRThe “Lord of the Rings” trilogy. I tried reading the books and managed to get halfway through the first one multiple times until I finally gave up. It’s just so incredibly boring! However I adore the movies!!

 

 

 

I’d love for some people to do this as well, because I’d really like to see what sort of unpopular opinions other people have about popular books and characters!

I hope you have a wonderful weekend, lovely humans!

Signature

 

7 thoughts on “The Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. I totally agree with you on TMI series!
    The first book was okay. I really enjoyed the 2nd and 3rd.
    The 4th book was okay and then it just went down hill during the 4th to the end.
    I suffered through the last book…and I mean suffered, lol.
    It took me months (lots of months) to finish it, because I was so bored I would just read other books instead and the ending up dumb.
    It could have perfectly ended at book three and actually been a decent series!

    Like

  2. not really a fan of the mortal instruments either.
    read the fist three and then stopped, i had some sort of an ending and really wasn’t enjoying them enough to continue! (seriously how annoying can you make your characters?!)
    actually ended up giving them to my sister because i didn’t like seeing them on my shelf.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave me your Thoughts

