Very Belated April Wrap Up

Well… This is embarrassing… I just realised that I haven’t done a monthly wrap up of all the shiz I read since March!

Shame on me!

But oh well, better late than never, eh… So let’s kick this off with missing month number one, which is April!

 

Saga Vol. 2Saga Vol. 3Saga Vol. 4#1: “Saga Vol. 2, 3 and 4” by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples

Rating: 4/5

What can I say – I just fucking adore this series! It’s so action packed, the characters are fantastic and the story is great as well! Plus the artwork is simply amazing! Fan of the funnies? Great! Enjoy all the action? Excellent! Love yourself a teeny bit of romance? Even better! This series has it all and if you still haven’t picked it up yet, I only have this to say to you: WHAT THE EFF IS WRONG WITH YOU?!

 

Watchmen#2: “Watchmen” by Alan Moore

Rating: 2/5

This was quite a difficult one for me. I thought the story was alright and I enjoyed the characters and the art style, but there was just so much going on. It was really overwhelming for me. Especially because it was the first “proper” graphic novel I read. I started this back in the beginning of March and by the time I managed two chapters (which took me over an hour)  I was mentally really exhausted. So much colour happening and so many characters constantly having flashbacks to the past, it was all really confusing and took me a really fucking long time to finish this! I know this is considered to be like THE “National Treasure” of the Graphic Novel world and is being taught at universities (which is by the way the reason I read it – it was taught in my literature course), but I just couldn’t get into it at all.

That was one hell of a plot twist though!

 

 
21911561#3: “Captive” by Aimeé Carter

Rating: 3/4

This is Book number two of the Blackout Rebellion series and I was so excited to pick this up and read it because I adored the first book! You can read my review of that one here if you like. I have to say, I was pretty underwhelmed by this installment though. I found the story really predictable and while the first one to me was something completely new in the dystopian novel world, this one was pretty much a stereotypical dystopian cliche. I’m not really sure if I will continue on with this series.

 

 
Goth Girl and the Pirate Queen#4: “Goth Girl and the Pirate Queen” by Chris Riddell

Rating: 5/5

I love Chris Riddell and his Goth Girl series so much! This is just a teeny tiny novella, but it was as sweet and wonderful and magical as it’s bigger siblings. The illustrations are beautiful as is the writing and it’s stuffed to the brim with the silly puns I love so much! I CANNOT wait for “Goth Girl and the Wuthering Fright” to finally come out and be mine!

 

As you can see by my poor performance of only managing to read four books in one month, so far my reading for this year was pretty bad! I think in total I’ve only read 32 books this year and we’ve already reached the half way point. That’s really sad. But it’s finally the end of the semester, all my exams are over and I’m going on holiday in three days! YAAAAAAAAY! 🎉 Plenty of reading is finally gonna be taking place!

I hope you have a wonderful evening, lovely humans!

Signature

22 thoughts on “Very Belated April Wrap Up

  1. I was also completely underwhelmed by Captive. Like you, I really liked Pawn and thought it was interesting but then, yeah…this book just wasn’t as good. Now, I’m not sure if I’m going to continue with the series.

    Like

  2. I’m not a big fan of the art style of Watchmen either which is probably why I didn’t enjoy the art for V for Vendetta either lol. If you’re new to graphic novels, I recommend the Amulet series by Kazu Kibuishi. It’s a middle grade graphic novel series and the artwork is very enjoyable and crisp!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, that would happened to me too 🙂 That’s why I have to constantly remind myself about the monthly posts lol 😉 Talking about OCD, I’m kinda obsessed with making lists 😀 I bet I have one for every possible category!

        Like

  3. haha, and I thought I was behind with my wrap ups 😛
    also, love saga! i’ve only read the first one so far but 2&3 are on its way to me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave me your Thoughts

