Love Wins or “My Favourite LGBTQ+ Reads”

Rainbow Dash

So yesterday the American Senate did a thing and it was magical! Finally same sex couples can get married in all 50 states! And in honour of this momentous day I thought why not tell you a bit about my favourite LGBTQ+ books?! Ok, granted, it’s more like L with one G, but still… Queer characters FTW!

 

#1: “The Dark Wife” by Sarah Diemer

The Dark Wife CoverI’ve been raving about this book many many times! This might be my absolute favourite Lesbian read of all time! I remember starting it really late with the intention of only readying a couple of pages, maybe a chapter, but then I finished it in one sitting. The characters and the story should be pretty familiar to everyone, because it’s a retelling of the greek myth of Hades and Persephone. The reason I love this book so much is that not once in the entire book is there an instance of “holy shit look at them lesbianing together!!” *le gasp* (By the way – Hades is a women in this scenario. Also – I’m gonna marry her, just fyi.) as it is with so many other LGBTQ+ books. It’s always a struggle of some sort and there’s always a finger being pointed at the same sex couple and I’m really fed up with it. It’s normal. It doesn’t need pointing out. Another reason for my love for this is the wonderful writing and the amazing characters. And the fact that it’s a retelling of my favourite greek myth just fills me with such joy!

 

#2: “Will Grayson, Will Grayson” by John Green & David Levithan

Will Grayson Will GraysonThis is my favourite John Green book! I love this so much! Tiny and Will are my bookish dudes OTP! Tiny Cooper is just too gay to function and I fucking love it! This is without a doubt the funniest book on this list. And not a “chuckle silently to yourself” kind of funny but a “holy shit this is hilarious let me make dying whale noises in public” kind of funny.
This is the story about a boy called Will Grayson who meets a boy called Will Grayson. Both completely different personalities and lives and stories, but in the end it all blends extremely well together. Also: There’s a musical. No need to say anything else.

 

#3: “Ash” by Malinda Lo

Ash CoverYay, another retelling! This time of a fairytale we all know and – except for me – love: Cinderella. I’m not a fan of this particular fairytale, however I only heard amazing things about Malinda Lo so I decided to give it a go. And I was not disappointed at all! We all know the story of Cinderella so I don’t think I need to go into much detail about the basic happenings. There are, of course some differences. instead of a grandma like fairy godmother we have a kind of creepy fairy dude named Sidhean and instead of Prince Charming as the major love interest we have the King’s Huntress names Kaisa (*swooningly fans air and slightly drools on own shoes*). The writing is amazingly beautiful and I really highly recommend this to everyone! It’s not just a lesbian retelling of Cinderella – it’s much more than that!

 

#4: “Stir-Fry” by Emma Donoghue

Stir-Fry CoverThis is a coming of age story about a naive 17-year-old who moves from rural Ireland to Dublin to attend university. She looks for a cheap place to live and moves in with two girls, without realising they are lesbians and in relationship with each other. Consequently she starts to explore her own sexuality. I’m not usually a fan of coming of age stories but this one was really funny! It was a quick and light-hearted read and I really enjoyed it. The characters weren’t always very likeable, but that only made the story so much more realistic and the people in it so much more relatable!

 

#5: “Wildthorn” by Jane Eagland

Wildthorn CoverI don’t know what it is with me and my attraction to stories set in insane asylums… It’s creepy and scary and I don’t do well with creepy and scary! This book was a rollercoaster of feels, man! Disturbing, exciting and sweet! The story is set in Victorian England and revolves around Louisa Cosgrove who is the daughter of a doctor. She dreams about breaking free of her boring life, but ends up living a nightmare when she gets send to Wildthorn Hall. She is labelled a lunatic, is deprived of her freedom and even her name gets taken away from her. The writing is really beautiful and although the story makes you feel so hopeless sometimes, this was an excellent read!

 
So there you go! These are my favourite LGBTQ+ books. Now go forth and get married, everybody!

I hope you have a wonderful weekend, lovely humans!

Signature

4 thoughts on “Love Wins or “My Favourite LGBTQ+ Reads”

  1. the dark wife and wildthorn sound so good!
    will grayson, will grayson has been on my tbr for a long while, but i think i might not really enjoy it that much at the moment.. i’ve read two john green books and really liked them at the time, but for some reason lately i haven’t been in the mood at all to continue on with his work..

    also, i really need to read some lgbtq+ books. so far i’ve only read ones where there happedned to be some -not straight- characters, but they where never the main characters..
    i’m often afraid it might go the ‘omg, look lesbians/gays/whatever!’ way instead of it being normal.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read all of John Green’s books and now I’m thoroughly fed up by them I have to say. Not that they are bad, not at all, but I think reading them all in rapid succession was not such a good idea on my part… 😜

      People that fall anywhere on the LGBTQ+ spectrum being treated as anything but normal in a book is my biggest fear! Which is why I put off reading books with a main character that defines as anything but heterosexual… But there are some really great ones out there! 😊

      Like

Leave me your Thoughts

