Tags Galore, Part I

… aka The Ultimate Book Tag & Another Liebster Award

I’m so sorry, please excuse my long absence!!! Last week was really hectic. I’ve started a new job and been working nearly every day. Plus I have an exam coming up on Thursday (for which I have yet to start revising; yay for those excellent life choices of mine) so I’m a bit stressed out.

I’ve been feeling even more love lately thanks to Emma, who tagged me to do the Ultimate Book Tag and Amy who nominated me for yet another Liebster Award. Thank you both so much!!! Please go pay these girls a visit and give them some love.

I’ve split this post up into two parts; otherwise this would get way too long! Let’s get started with the Ultimate Book Tag. I did this once before quite some time ago, but actually I’m quite eager to see if my answers have changed over time. So let’s do this!

 

#1: Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Thankfully no! That would be my personal nightmare to not be able to read in a car (or any moving vehicle for that matter). I’m often going on some short trips around Europe with my parents and we almost always go by car. If I couldn’t spend an 8+ hours trip reading I would go crazy.

 

#2: Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

I love Brandon Sanderson’s writing because his world building is fucking incredible! However recently I discovered Neil Gaiman and although I have only read two books by him so far I immediately fell in love with his writing. With him, it’s the characters I love the most. I feel for and with every single one of them, even the baddies.

 

#3: Harry Potter series or the Twilight Saga. Give three points to defend your answer.

First of all the phrasing of this question is absolutely ridiculous, because no one has to defend themselves on preferring one thing to the other. Also, I’ve never read Twilight, so I can’t really pass judgement on that anyways. Sparkling vampires are just too much to handle for me. So that being said:

Harry Potter all the way.

Reasons being:

1.      Harry Potter.

2.      Harry “I can do magic and I live at Hogwarts and I ride broomsticks and Hippogriffs” Potter.

3.      Harry freaking Potter, jfc.

 

#4: Do you carry a book bag? If so, what’s in it (besides books)?

The Ultimate Book TagWell I carry my kindle everywhere I go so I guess every single one of my bags can be considered a book bag. And besides my kindle there’s nothing unusually exciting in my bag. I carry pretty ordinary stuff around with me.

 

 

#5: Do you smell your books?

I used to. Not anymore tough because I mostly buy used books and they don’t really smell that glorious.

 

#6: Books with or without little illustrations?

Both. Also: Petition to make Chris Riddell contribute little illustrations to every single book on the planet!

 

#7: What book did you love while reading, but later discovered it wasn’t great quality writing?

I don’t have an answer for this. I either love it or I don’t. It very rarely happens that I enjoy the book while reading it but later think “nah that wasn’t really that good though”.

 

#8: Do you have any funny stories from your childhood involving books?

It’s not a funny story per se, but when my friends and me started reading Harry Potter when we were 11 (yay for growing up with Harry and Ron and Hermione) we almost had a little competition going on, on who could finish the newest book the fastest. We would spend the time between classes sitting together in a corner and reading the books together and then fangirl about it!

 

#9: What is the tiniest book on you shelf?

The Ultimate Book TagPolitics and the English Language” by George Orwell.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

#10: What is the thickest book on your shelf?

The Ultimate Book TagI have a lot of really big books. Some of the Harry Potter books for example are really big. I own the “Song of Ice and Fire Series” by George R.R. Martin, which is quite huge. I also have lots of textbooks for my English and American Studies that are pretty chunky, like the “Norton Anthology of English Literature”, which is so incredibly massive. “Under the Dome” by Stephen King is huge too. So there are quite a lot of thick books on my shelves to choose from.

 

#11: Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself as an author in the future?

No I don’t see myself as an author. I enjoy writing reviews and other bookish related pieces, but I have no plans on ever writing anything else.

 

#12: When did you get into reading?

I’ve been reading ever since I learned how to read. And before that my mum would read to me. So I’ve basically had my nose in books all my life.

 

 #13: What is your favourite classic book?

The Ultimate Book TagAlice’s Adventures in Wonderland” by Lewis Carroll. It’s not just my favourite classic; it’s my favourite book, full stop.

 

 
 
 

#14: In school what was your best subject? Language Arts/English?

ALL THE LANGUAGES! I was good really good with the languages. The sciences however were my Achilles heel.

 

#15: If you were given a book that you read before and hated what would you do?

I would accept it, say thank you, put it on my shelf and keep it. Maybe in the future I would donate it to a used books store or pass it on to someone I think would enjoy it more. I’m one of those people who appreciate and keep every single thing they get for a long time; sometimes forever. If people go through he trouble of choosing a gift for you and spending money and time just for you, then you damn well better show them that you’re grateful for it; even if you don’t really like what they’ve gotten you!

 

#16: What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) whilst blogging?

Procrastination. And cursing. I like to curse. A lot.

 

#17: What is your favourite word?

Every single variation of the word “fuck” (what did I tell you? I really like the cursing!!). I’m just so grateful that a world like this exists that perfectly fits every occasion.

 

#18: Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

This is going to sound so pretentious, but I don’t do labels. I find them too restrictive.

 

#19: Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Fairies! They’re cunning and can fly. Also: Fairy dust!

 

#20: Shapeshifters or Angles? Why?

Shapeshifters all the way. Who wouldn’t want to be able to change their form?

 

#21: Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

I really don’t have a preference with this one. Not keen on either of them.

 

#22: Zombies or Vampires? Why?

Vampires! I’m not really down with the whole rotting flesh aesthetic. Also, my first major crush was on Spike from “Buffy the Vampire Slayer”.

 

#23: Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Dear God, NEITHER! I hate them both! Keep those things as far away from me as possible, please!

 

24: And finally: Full on romance books or action packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

In lieu with my answer to the last question: GO AWAY WITH THE ROMANCE! Give me all the action!!!!

 

Phew, that took longer than expected. Now this is where I’m gonna get really lazy… I’ve tagged a lot of people lately for various things so if you’ve managed to go through all of this (congratulations by the way; you rock!) and landed here: CONSIDER YOURSELF TAGGED!

Part two of the “Ali has been horrible and neglected to do some tags so she’s doing them all now” duology will be up sometime today as well. Most likely in the evening as I have Uni now.

Have a wonderful day, lovely humans!

Signature

6 thoughts on “Tags Galore, Part I

Leave me your Thoughts

