The Reader Problems Book Tag

The lovely Cristina from Girl in the Pages tagged me to do this so please go pay her a visit and have a look around! And let’s get straight to it.

#1: You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

Well when it comes to deciding what I should read next, I follow the same principle as when I have to decide what to wear. I stand in front of my bookshelves and stare at them for a while. Then I take some books out. Then I put them back and take another couple of books out. Then I put those back and then decide that I definitely have nothing to read and therefore need to go and buy more books.

It’s a vicious circle…

#2: You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

For a long time I thought I needed to finish every single book no matter how much I hated it. But I’ve decided that I’m no longer doing that. If I’m just not feeling it I stop reading it instead of forcing myself to finish it whilst hating every single moment of having to look at those words.

#3: The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your Goodreads Challenge. Do you quit or commit?

I commit, of course, but to me my Goodreads goal is more of a general guideline than an actual challenge that I need to achieve. If I meet the number I set then that’s great, but if I don’t I’m not upset about it either.

#4: The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?

Not at all! Temper tantrums and crying and heavy breathing in a paper bag will happen! Cover changes should be forbidden and punished severely!

#5: Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

I can usually find at least one person in book blogging sphere, who thankfully shares my rage and hatred.

#6: You’re reading a book and you’re about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I think I’ve only cried once or twice because of a book, so crying while reading in public is something that I’m pretty sure will never happen.

#7: A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?

Definitely not going to skip the book! Not going to re-read it either, because I generally don’t re-read books. Most novels tend to have a summary of everything that happened in the preceding book in the first chapter, so I usually just jump straight into the story and hope I remember all the important bits!

#8: You don’t want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people “nope” when they ask?

I used to never lend my books to anyone since I’m very OCD when it comes to my babies, but I did get a bit more tolerant. I’ve adopted more of a “spread the bookish love, baby” kind of attitude. However so far that privilege is reserved exclusively for my close friends!

You can read more on my thoughts on lending out books here, if you want!

#9: You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over your slump?

I go for something that’s short and sweet. I recently got into graphic novels and they helped me get over my slump a bit. They are a quick read with lots of pretty pictures, so they’re very easy to get through. Or I go for an old favourite and re-read that. If that doesn’t help either I just wait it out. Forcing yourself to do something you don’t want is just gonna make you resent doing it even more.

I do have some tips on how to overcome a reading slump. You can have a look at them here.

#10: There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

None. I never buy new releases for the simple reason that they are very expensive and I always wait for the paperbacks to come out. And sometimes I even go so far and wait until my go-to online used books store has them and I can get it from there, which could take a very long time after a book has been released.

#11: After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?

That varies a lot. Sometimes I read them immediately. Sometimes I put them on my shelves and they sit there for a very long time (hence my gigantic TBR pile).

Being a reader is not so easy… I’m going to tag:

  • Eliza (The Bookish Universe)
  • Emma (She Reads Books)
  • Maren (The Worn Bookmark)
  • Nicole (She Talks to Rainbows)
  • Stefani (Caught Read Handed)

No pressure at all of doing this if you don’t want to! If you do however, please let me know! I would love to read your answers to these bookish problems!

Also since about half an hour I’m the proud new owner of a Facebook page for this blog and I would really appreciate it, if you could check it out and maybe drop me a like! Here’s a virtual cookie as a thank you: 🍪

Have a wonderful weekend, lovely humans!

Signature

5 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Book Tag

  1. loved reading your answers!
    I think mine would be kinda similair, but I’ll think about it some more and post them on my blog later 🙂
    (thank you for tagging me!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave me your Thoughts

