Bookish Sins

There are some things in the book community that are heavily frowned upon and I’m guilty of (nearly) every single one of them.

So many books, so little space…

One of the frowned upon scenarios in the bookish world is double stacking.

Which I do.

A lot.

My space is limited, as is my bank account, so I can’t be randomly adding bookshelves whenever I run out of places to put my books in. Which tends to happen quite often, since I keep buying all the books. So even though I own four bookshelves, I have no choice but to double stack on all of them. It makes my shelves look a little chaotic, but I actually quite like that.

IMG_9531

In addition to the double stacking horror it seems that there is an unspoken consensus in the bookish community that your books should forever and always be in pristine condition. Everything else is considered a vicious sin.

Well, if that’s really the case, then bless me, oh book-gods, for I have sinned.

Gravely.

Sin #1: Cracking the Spine.

I can already hear the screams of agony coming from some of you, but sometimes it just can’t be helped. I want to be able to properly read my books without having to guess what half the words are, because I’m so focused on not cracking the spine. Especially when it comes to mass-market paperbacks like the “Song of Ice and Fire” books there is practically no way of avoiding the spine-cracking fiasco.

 IMG_9530

Sin #2: Doodling on the Pages.

Granted it’s not doodling, it’s writing. I sometimes like to make notes in the margins, of things that popped into my mind while I was reading. Can be a simple “yes” or “no” or more elaborate thoughts that end up practically filling up the entire free space on the page. But more often I’m sticking to the short one-word thoughts.

Sin #3: Some more Doodling on the Pages.

Again, it’s less doodling more marking. I always have a pencil with me when I read, because I LOVE marking my favourite passages. And I know, I could use sticky notes, but I hate those things!

 IMG_9532

Something about writing things in my books and marking some passages and cracking the spine makes me feel really satisfied! Pristine books might look really beautiful, but to me it’s even more beautiful when they are used and worn out. A well-read book shows that it wasn’t just simply read, it was devoured and experienced and well loved.

The only thing there really is no excuse for, is dog-earing. BOOKMARKS ARE THERE FOR A REASON! And even if you don’t own a bookmark (like, dude, what even?) or are on the go, there are still various options available to you. Everything can be turned into a bookmark. Just know that there is a special place in hell for people, who dog-ear their books. Think about that the next time you want to fold over that corner…

What are your thoughts on this? Do you prefer your books to look as if they were newly purchased? Or do you wear yours out like I do mine?

 

Also if you hurry, you can still enter my blogiversary giveaway! It ends at midnight tonight (CET), so be quick! The winner will be announced tomorrow here on the blog and will of course be contacted by me as well. 😊 Good luck!

Have a wonderful weekend, lovely humans!

Signature

5 thoughts on “Bookish Sins

  1. I love this post! When I was younger, I had this thing about keeping all of my books in pristine condition, but now I feel as you do. It’s better to fully experience books and show that they’ve been loved than to have books that you’re afraid to even open.

    Like

Leave me your Thoughts

