The Duology of Shame, Book II aka Popular Standalones I Haven’t Read Yet

On Monday we discovered that I own some pretty popular series that I haven’t read yet and you can take a look at them here, so today let’s see which popular standalone books I own that are standing on my shelf unread und neglected. I’ve narrowed it down to ten books because otherwise this list would get embarrassingly long…

 

Alice Facepalm

#1: Anything by Jane Austen and the Bronte sisters

That sounds like a super cool rock band! Please welcome to the Stage Jane Austen and the Bronte Sisteeeeeers with their hit single “Sensible Jane’s Pride at Northanger Heights”! Those are by the way the novels I own and have owned for years now, and still haven’t read. I’ll leave it to you to figure out which ones they are. Which is really not that difficult I think. 😜

 

#2: “The Hobbit” by J.R.R. Tolkien

Much like the Lord of the Rings trilogy, I haven’t read that one yet either. Although I’ve heard many times that it’s a lot easier to get into than the trilogy.

 

#3: “The Ocean at the End of the Lane” by Neil Gaiman

Until quite recently (meaning last month) I haven’t read any Neil Gaiman, even though people are gushing and raving about him constantly. Then I read “The Sleeper and the Spindle” and my mind was blown. I’ve owned “The Ocean at the End of the Lane” for some time now, but somehow didn’t really feel pressed to pick it up. Now I don’t think this will stay unread for very much longer.

 

#4: “Slaughterhouse 5” by Kurt Vonnegut

This is definitely on the top of my “need to read very soon” list! I’ve only heard amazing things about Kurt Vonnegut and this book in particular!

 

#5: “Dracula” by Bram Stoker

For someone who was obsessed with Vampires (oh Spike…) in her youth it’s pretty embarrassing that I haven’t read the most iconic vampire novel ever written. And speaking of iconic monstrous beings –

 

#6: “Frankenstein” by Mary Shelley

The first female writer of Sci-Fi and I haven’t read that book yet! Jesus… I’m bad at that whole girl-power thing… This and Dracula will also be read over the course of this year, because I’ve been meaning to read those two for such a long time now so it’s going to happen soon!

 

#7: Anything by Agatha Christie

I enjoy crime novels and mysteries and I own a couple of Poirot’s. They’re not even that long so I have no idea why I haven’t read them yet and hope to get to those soon as well!

 

#8: “Matilda” by Roald Dahl

I’ve not read much Dahl, but what I’ve read I really loved! “Matilda” was apparently written in my birth year and since I’m doing the Read Harder and the Popsugar Reading Challenge this year and one of the boxes to tick off is a book written in the year you were born, this is definitely going to get read until 2016! Also – I ADORE the movie!

 

#9: “Wonder” by R.J. Palacio

I’ve heard such wonderful things about this book, but I’ve just not been in a very YA contemporary mood as of late. Not sure when I will pick this up, but I really want to read this at some point!

 

#10: “The Handmaid’s Tale” by Margaret Atwood

This sounds like such a great book and Margaret Atwood seems to be one of those authors that you just have to have read once in your life. And I definitely plan on doing so!

 

So those are my top ten popular standalone books I own and haven’t read yet. I really need to stop buying even more books and start reading the ones I already own…

Do you own really popular books that you haven’t read yet? If you’ve read any of the books or authors I mentioned let me know what you think of them!

I hope you have a great weekend, lovely humans!

Signature

8 thoughts on “The Duology of Shame, Book II aka Popular Standalones I Haven’t Read Yet

  1. Love Neil Gaiman, so I’d say read The Ocean at the End of the Lane as soon as possible! 😛
    (though that said, i’ve also hear quite a few who didn’t like it.. i guess it can be a bit hit or miss..)

    also, I really need to read Dracula. planned on reading it last december, but then didn’t really get around to it and now I’m not really in the mood for it.. oh well, it should happen sometime this year.

    Like

    1. It’s already on the top of my list.. 🙂

      I’m not really in the mood for Dracula now either, but I really want to read it sometime this year. Maybe I’ll safe it for Halloween. Vampires and Halloween work well together. 🙂

      Like

      1. Read frankensteil last year (2014) around Halloween, if I don’t get around to reading Dracula before I will definitely add it to my october/Halloween tbr!

        Yay! happy to hear you loved it as well! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this list. Until you said Neil Gaiman wrote that…I didn’t even put it together. A lot of people have raved about him and I really need to just go a grab a book of his and see for myself. I have a list of “classical” books that I will be posting soon that I need to get a move on and read. So you definitely are not alone on just about all those books, ha!

    Like

Leave me your Thoughts

