The Duology of Shame, Book I aka “Popular Series I Haven’t Read Yet”

I’ve recently reorganised my bookshelves and I own quite a lot of popular series and books that I haven’t read yet. So let’s take a look at all the duologies, trilogies, quartets and the like that I own and haven’t picked up yet.

Are You Fucking Serious

#1: “The Chronicles of Narnia” by C.S. Lewis

I think the sole reason I haven’t started reading this yet is because I own the humongous bind up version of this and lately I have a problem with reading big books.

 

#2: “The Lord of the Rings” by J.R.R. Tolkien

Yap, that’s right. Haven’t read that yet. How blasphemous of me! I’ve tried reading this twice in my life already and always put it back down, so I don’t think it’s ever going to happen. Who knows, maybe in the future?

 

#3: The “Anna and the French Kiss” Companion Series by Stephanie Perkins

I only recently bought those and will probably wait until summer to read them. It just seems like more of a feel-good, summery type of series.

 

#4: “Noughts and Crosses” by Malorie Blackman

These have been sitting on my shelves for quite some time now and I have no idea why I haven’t picked them yet since I only hear the best about them.

 

#5: The “MaddAddam” Trilogy by Margaret Atwood

I was initially really excited to read this trilogy because I’ve heard such great things and I’ve never read any Margaret Atwood. But then they were added to my curriculum in a course at uni (and later removed again… -.-‘) and I think that killed the excitement. As soon as reading becomes mandatory it’s no longer fun for me.

 

#6: The “Millennium” Trilogy by Stieg Larsson

I’ve owned this trilogy for over a year now and still haven’t read it even though some of my friends adore them and keep telling me for YEARS I should finally get to them. I have no idea why I haven’t picked them up yet.

 

#7: “Leviathan” by Scott Westerfeld

This really baffles me, because the premise sounds so freaking great and it’s god dammed Scott Westerfeld! To me having still not read that is simply embarrassing.

 

And last but not least:

#8: The “Silo” Series by Hugh Howey

Again, only heard amazing things about this (plus the covers are GORGEOUS) so why haven’t I gotten around to reading them yet? NO IDEA! I think I’m going to dedicate a month this year to just reading series. It’s about time all these babies get picked up and shown some love.

 

Let me know if you’ve read any of the series I mentioned (which I’m sure you have) and what you thought about them and which series I should IMMEDIATELY AND WITHOUT ANY DELAY pick up because its just SO AMAZING!

Also feel free to recommend series that are not on this list that you love and think I should get to. I’m in a huge reading slump lately so I could do with some fast paced, exciting stories (but please no romance. I am so not in a lovey-dovey mood!).

 

Book II of this shameful duology, “Popular Books I Haven’t Read Yet” will be following by the end of the week, so be on the lookout for that.

I hope you have a wonderful week, lovely humans!

Signature

11 thoughts on “The Duology of Shame, Book I aka “Popular Series I Haven’t Read Yet”

    1. Glad I’m not alone. 😀
      I only consider it shameful for me personally, because those are all series I really want to read and have owned for a very long time. Some have been on my shelves for YEARS and still I haven’t picked them up.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahahaha oh well that is true.. 😉 Nah I don’t think people should read stuff only because it’s considered popular (HP however really is a fantastic series and I think you would enjoy it). In my case, like i said, I need to read them because I really want to, not only because they’re popular.. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I think that the Anna and the French Kiss books are PERFECT for summer, so it’s a good choice to wait until then to read them! I’ve only read Wool in the Silo trilogy, but I LOVED it. Looking forward to reading the other two. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. you’re not alone! (well, i don’t own series that í haven’t started, but i do own quite a few unfinished ones and then there are the ones i don’t even own yet, but really should have read by now..)

    out of the ones you mentioned I have read lotr &started anna and the French kiss and Narnia.

    Like

    1. I have so much on my wishlist! Series like both Percy Jackson series or the Saga graphic novels (NEEEEEED!)… Really want to read them (hopefully sooner than later) but I want to get through the ones I own before I buy new ones..

      Like

Leave me your Thoughts

