Top 5 Wednesday – Top 5 Books Read This Year

It’s the end of the year, which means it’s the last T5W of the year and the last blog post of the year and the last everything of the year!

 

Actually it’s not quite the end of the year for me yet, because it’s 17:44 here in Austria, which means we’re still some hours away from 2015.

But let’s get to the actual point of this post, which is picking my top five reads of 2014. Not an easy endeavour at all. I’ve read 78 books this year so picking just five books out of so many good ones that I’ve read was really difficult. I’ll probably be finishing another one tonight, but I can already say I don’t love it enough for it to be qualified for this list.

Without further ado – here are my top five books I’ve read in 2014 (in no particular order):

 

#1: “Heir of Fire” by Sarah J. Maas

22084157This is book number three in the “Throne of Glass” series and in my opinion by far the best one yet! We got to meet some phenomenal new characters, including one of my favourite characters ever – Manon, the Ironteeth witch. I flew through this one (and it’s quite long) and I can’t wait for the next book to come out! I wrote a short review of it, so if you want to check it out you can do so here.

 

 

 

#2: “The Dark Wife” by Sarah Diemer

11373901This book. THIS BOOK! It gave me all of the feels! I could not put it down and I think it’s safe to say that this book now holds a firm spot in my hall of all-time favourites. It’s one of these books that just kinda stay with you and this rarely happens to me. I read so many books that usually I tend to forget a lot of what I read or confuse storylines and characters. Not with this one though! I remember it as though I only read it yesterday. If you wanna find out more about it, you can read my short review here.

 

 

#3: “Ready Player One” by Ernest Cline

12600138I never much liked reading Sci-Fi books. Somehow that was never a genre I particularly enjoyed. Until I read “Ready Player One”. The book largely takes place in a virtual reality and it is fucking fantastic! Fun and fast-paced and a scavenger hunt that will keep you on your toes! My review of this one is here, so go check that out for more info.

 

 

 

#4: “The Mistborn Trilogy” by Brandon Sanderson

10267807I read this as a bind up so I’M NOT CHEATING!

This trilogy is EPIC. No other word can describe this. The world building is fantastic. The characters are realistic and wonderful. The writing is gorgeous! This might just be my favourite fantasy series ever! (Sorry “Harry Potter” – You are still and will forever be my first love, don’t you worry.) A review was written – of course – and can be found here.

 

 

#5: “We Were Liars” by E. Lockhart

16143347My reading year was dominated by dystopian and fantasy literature so when I heard how people were raving about this contemporary book I decided to follow the hype and pick it up. Which turned out to be a very good idea indeed! Usually I don’t like to read contemporaries that much because mostly they are fluffy love stories, but this was so freaking good. No fluffy love story (I mean there was a love story, but thankfully not a sickeningly lovey-dovey one), very real characters and a HUGE twist at the end, which hits you right in the feels. It’s glorious. And it’s one of those books you have to go in blind, as to not spoil the experience so no review for this one, but I highly recommend you pick it up and that you do so before you read E. Lockhart’s new book “The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks”, because that was so painfully disappointing!

 

So those were my five favourite reads of 2014. If you want to participate you can check out the Goodreads group here and you might also want to pay a visit to Lainey, who created his wonderful weekly bookish happening.

Have a wonderful New Year’s Eve or New Year’s Day (depending on where in the world you live), stay safe and here’s to reading many more excellent books in 2015! 🎉🍸

— Alina xx

Leave me your Thoughts

