Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite Winter Reads

IT’S CHRISTMAS EVE and we just finished with the giving of all the gifts and the eating of all the food and now I’m relaxing in my room with a lovely glass of Bailey’s and I decided to give you a short but hopefully sweet Christmassy blog post!

So here are my top five favourite wintery reads. Which technically have nothing to do with winter whatsoever, but when it gets cold outside and all the Christmas cheer is going around I like to go back to my favourite stories of all time.

 

#1: “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass” by Lewis Carroll

IMG_7844

I’m slightly obsessed (as you might be able to tell by the picture) with this story! It’s so goddamned nonsensical and crazy and I fucking love it!

 

 

 

#2: “Harry Potter & The Philosopher’s Stone” (and all the other six books as well!) by J.K. Rowling

IMG_7840

Somehow I always associate Harry Potter with winter. I think that’s because when they were coming out my mom always bought me the newest one for Christmas. It was my favourite series growing up and still is one of my favourite series now.

 

 

 

 

#3: “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” by Roald Dahl

IMG_7837

This is one of my favourite children’s stories. Even though I first read it when I was a bit over 20, I think.

 

 

 

 

 

#4: “The Golden Compass” (and the other two books in the series) by Philip Pullman

IMG_7841

I adore this trilogy so much! Shout out to my former German professor, who recommended the books to me, because I completely fell in love with this story! (The movie kinda sucked though!)

 

 

 

 

#5: “The Wonderful Wizard of Oz” by L. Frank Baum

IMG_7845

“We’re off to see the Wizard, the wonderful Wizard of Oz!” I want those ruby slippers, man…

 

 

 

 

I wish you all a wonderful, happy, merry, holly, jolly Christmas! 🎄 May you enjoy good food and better company (and maybe some even much better gifts 😋)!

If you want to participate you can check out the Goodreads group here and you might also want to pay a visit to Lainey, the creator of this wonderful weekly bookish fun.

— Alina xx

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite Winter Reads

Leave me your Thoughts

