2015 TBR Pile Challenge

 

2015tbrbutton

 

Since my TBR is growing steadily and I keep buying books without actually reading them this challenge is perfect for me! I have unread books on my shelves that I haven’t touched since getting them three to four years ago. Scary.

 

The goal of this challenge is to finally read 12 books from your to be read pile within 12 months. Each of the books must have been on your bookshelf or your TBR list for at least one full year. So that means your chosen books can’t have a publication date of 01.01.2014 or later. You can pick two alternates in case one or two of the books end up in your “couldn’t bear to finish that one” pile.

 

So here is my list of books I plan to read (in no particular order):

  1. The Casual Vacancy” by J.K. Rowling (2012)
  2. The Cuckoo’s Calling” by Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling) (2013)
  3. Leviathan” by Scott Westerfeld (2009)
  4. Noughts and Crosses” by Malorie Blackman (2006)
  5. The Girl who saved the King of Sweden” by Jonas Jonasson (2013)
  6. Of Mice and Men” by John Steinbeck (1937)
  7. Slaughterhouse 5” by Kurt Vonnegut (1969)
  8. 1984” by George Orwell (which I technically read back in school but got my own copy of it a couple of years ago and been planning on doing a re-read ever since then since I can barely remember anything of the story.) (1949)
  9. Fingersmith” by Sarah Waters (2002)
  10. Frankenstein” by Mary Shelley (1818)
  11. The Eyre Affair” by Jasper Fforde (2001)
  12. The Red House” by Mark Haddon (2012)

 

And my two alternates are:

  1. Slammerkin” by Emma Donoghue (2000)
  2. Dracula” by Bram Stoker (1879)

 

This challenge was created by Adam from the “Roof Beam Reader” and you can sign up for it here.

Let’s shrink our TBR piles. Ladies and Gents!

— Alina xx

12 thoughts on “2015 TBR Pile Challenge

  1. I am doing something similar right now. Around May, I started a goal of reading “50 books within one year”, which due to being so busy, I’m having such a hard time with. I haven’t stopped of course, I’ve been back-to-back with books, but in six months I’m only on book#25.

    Of my list, I’ve read your #6, #7, and #8. They were phenomenal so I can only assume the others on your list will be just as swell.

    Happy reading!

    Like

    1. Thank you!! 🙂

      I try to read a least 50 books in a year too every year, but sometimes I have complete reading slumps and don’t pick up a book for months at a time… -.-‘ And since I keep buying books without reading them, my TBR is piling pretty high.. 😉

      I’m really looking forward to Slaughterhouse 5.. I have no idea why I haven’t picked it up yet since I’ve been meaning to read it for a very long time now!

      Like

      1. I am TRYING if that means anything, haha! The only difference is that I’m not buying them. (Most anyway—although I wish I were! I’ve found most of my classics for a quarter at the library’s book store.) Anyway, once I found out you could rent 50 books at the library, I was golden. I found almost my entire list (at the time it was like 80 or so, haha) And I read one. One. Then they were due so I took them back and only took out two at a time. Geez. It didn’t work. Too busy for 50 books. LOL.

        Like we talked about last, Kurt Vonnegut is where its at. Remember Cat’s Cradle, too. 🙂

        Like

      2. I did manage to surpass 60 books this year, but only because some of them were mangas or only had around 100 to 200 pages… xD I would have the same problem if I rented books from the library (we do have one, but very badly stocked when it comes to english books.. 😦 ) – I would rent them all at once and then not read them.. 😉

        That one is on my “desperately need to buy it” list! As is Galapagos and Slapstick! 🙂

        Like

      3. I think that would have been a lot easier, mangas and all! Right now I’m reading Watchmen so I get that completely. This one and V for Vendetta took such a short amount of time compared to the other book-books.

        I haven’t heard of those! I will definitely have to add them to my list once I make a dent to the remaining numbers, haha.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your list! The Cuckoo’s Calling is on another one of my challenges and I am reading it this month. I just finally read The Eyre Affair in 2013 and adored it. It is just so much fun. Good luck!

    Like

    1. That’s one of my resolutions for 2015 – only buy a book when I know I will read it right away. I’ve been stockpiling books like the world is about to end soon…. So no more excessive buying for me this year! 🙂

      Like

Leave me your Thoughts

