The Coffee Shop Book Tag

Monday is apparently turning into “Ali-does-all-the-tags-even-though-she-wasn’t-tagged-in-any-of-them” day! 😜 Since I’m currently sitting in a Coffee Shop and just yesterday found this tag, I decided to do it. The lovely Gio Navas created this tag and you should all go and check out her channel!

Let’s get straight into it!

 

Caffeinated Owl Chart

 

#1: Iced Coffee – Your favourite horror novel.

I don’t really read a lot of horror (or any horror as a matter of fact) since I’m a little chicken and get scared very, very easily. I’m currently halfway through Stephen King’s “Under the Dome”, but that can’t really be classified as horror. The creepiest book I’ve read lately was “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” by Ransom Riggs. However the story wasn’t really what was creepy to me, but rather al the pictures included in it. Those are some scary pictures, man!

 

#2: Hot Panino – The most frustrating sexual tension between two characters.

Puh, this is a hard one for me. I usually don’t pay attention to the love stuff in books. I’m not a big fan of the romantic stuff. I’m more focused on the action that’s going on. I could pinpoint a lot of frustrating lovey-dovey stuff in general (*cough* Clary and Jace *cough* just, no, stahp, please *cough*), but I can’t think of a single book where I got frustrated by the sexual tension.

 

#3: Arnold Palmer – Your favourite collaboration.

One of my all-time favourite books is “Will Grayson, Will Grayson” by John Green and David Levithan! I’m so in love with this story and the characters especially. They are just so well written and relatable. Highly recommend that book to everyone who hasn’t read it yet. Get it, read it, enjoy it!

 

#5: Fizzy Juice – A book with a cool premise that fell kind of flat.

For me that is without a doubt “Incarceron” by Catherine Fisher. The idea of a prison that is very much alive and can think on it’s own is so great! But sadly that idea was a bit underdeveloped. I haven’t read the sequel yet so I’m hoping this great premise is being further developed. Another thing I really struggled with was that I wasn’t able to connect with any of the characters. If you’re interested you can read my full review of this book here.

 

#6: Frappuccino – A book you don’t understand the hype about.

I’m probably gonna get hunted down with torches and pitchforks for saying this, but “The Fault in our Stars” by John Green. Don’t get me wrong I really enjoyed it and John Green is one of my favourite humans and authors, but I just am not really able to understand what all the fuzz is about. The same goes for “Looking for Alaska”. This is by far my least favourite book by him, whilst apparently it’s everybody else’s favourite. I just don’t get it. Maybe I’m missing some key element here so somebody please explain to me why those two books are so well loved and whether or not I’m just being incredibly ignorant and dumb.

 

#7: Vanilla Latte – A sweet book that makes you smile.

Basically everything by Sophie Kinsella. Her books are my little guilty pleasure. Every time I need a pick-me-up I read one of her stories and instantly feel better.

 

#8: Banana Nut Muffin – A nutty character that makes you laugh.

Ed from “That Certain Something” by Clare Ashton. God that woman made laugh out loud! She’s such a hilarious character! Very frank and very foul-mouthed, which is always a big plus for me! She’s just all together hilariously fucking awesome! You can read my short review of this book here, if you want.

 

#9: Peppermint Mocha – A bittersweet ending to a book or series.

Oh Jesus, do you have some time, because I have A LOT of books and especially series that have a very bittersweet ending for me! Starting withHarry Potter, because fuck no, I still don’t accept that that is over!

Another one that’s really bittersweet for me is “Mockingjay” by Suzanne Collins, which for those who don’t know (and if you don’t – where have you been?) is the third and final instalment in the “Hunger Games” trilogy. First book – SO GOOD! Second book – SO MUCH BETTER! Third book – WHAT THE ACTUAL FUCK?

 

#10: Chocolate Covered Nuts – A plot twist that got you.

Another hard question to which I don’t really have an answer. I’m one of those readers who can interpret foreshadowing pretty well so I rarely get surprised by plot twist, since often I can see them coming from miles away. One of the ones that was rather unexpected though was the twist in “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” by Ransom Riggs! Not gonna tell you what happened, because Spoilers, duh, but you should really pick this book up and read it! It’s pretty damn good!

 

#11: Black Coffee – A book that made your soul feel just as black; A book that made you cry.

Me crying when reading a book is something that only happens rarely. I get extremely emotional when watching a movie or TV series and often cry like a little baby, but it basically never happens when I’m reading a book. That is until I read “Keeping you a Secret” by Julie Anne Peters. I BAWLED MY EYES OUT for the last quarter of the book. It’s just so fucking real! I’ve written a short review on this one as well so if you want to know more about it you can read that here.

 

#12: Espresso – An intense book that kept you on your toes, or awake.

Both books I read by Sarah Diemer, “The Dark Wife” and “Twixt”. They were just such amazing reads! I read “The Dark Wife” quite a while ago, but I remember starting it at around 11:30 pm and staying up until well past 02:00 am to finish it. I just couldn’t put it down! The same goes for “Twixt”. Her writing is just so incredibly beautiful! I wrote short reviews on both of those and you can find the review for “The Dark Wifehere and the one for “Twixthere, if you want to find out more about them.

 

#13: Lemon Square – A sour scene that made you cringe from second hand embarrassment.

Pretty much every single sentence in the “Fifty Shades of Grey” trilogy by E.L. James. Just, NO!

 

#14: Americano – Your favourite classic.

Hands down “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass” by Lewis Carroll. It’s not only my favourite classic, but also my favourite book of all time! It’s completely nonsensical and that’s precisely why I love it so damn much!

 

#15: New Flavour – An awesome book you have yet to discuss on BookTube (or in my case here on my blog).

I’m very bad at keeping up with my review writing, so I have a lot of books I’ve recently read and still have to do a review on. For example the “Poison Study” trilogy by Maria V. Snyder, which I already read back in August, but really loved! Or the often in this post mentioned “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” by Ransom Riggs. And quite a lot more… I really need to catch up on my reviews, man…

 

So this was the Coffee Shop Book Tag. Really enjoyed this one!

I hope you have a wonderful week, dudes and dudettes! ❤

— Alina xx

Leave me your Thoughts

