Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite Titles

Decided to do a T5W this week! Let me share my favourite titles with you. 😊 They are not ranked from favourite to least favourite, but rather ordered alphabetically, because I’m slightly OCD that way…

 

#1: “1000 Years of Annoying the French” by Stephen Clarke

IMG_6821A British guy living in Paris writing about the Anglo-French history, rivalry and general shenanigans – what more do you want? It’s a really hilarious read, which is enjoyable even if you’re not that into history.

 

 

#2: “A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian” by Marina Lewycka

IMG_6817I picked this book up solely because of its title (and also the cover because it’s beautiful), because it sounds very arbitrary and that’s very intriguing to me! I haven’t read it yet though I only heard good things so far!

 

 

#3: “Grace’s Guide – The Art of Pretending to be a Grown Up” by Grace Helbig

IMG_6823This title speaks to me on a very profound level, because I might be 26 years old, so technically legally I’m an adult (yeah right), yet I have no idea how to adult so I’m pretending every god damned day. And also – It’s freaking Grace! It’s just such a hilarious book! Read it. Loved it. Highly recommend it!

 

 

#4: “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” by Ransom Riggs

IMG_6818This is another book I only bought because if its title! It’s so mysterious and the cover looks kind of creepy so it was instantly appealing to me! Really enjoyed this read! It’s a story that was built around creepy pictures the author found and it’s really amazing to me that he was able to create such a coherent and captivating story out of such diverse pictures.

 

#5: “The One-Hundred-Year Old Man who Climbed out the Window and Disappeared” by Jonas Jonasson

IMG_6819I mean come on! This screams funny and hilarious! Another one where I didn’t even read the blurb; I just had to have it because of the title. It sounded so quirky and like a perfect book for travelling. And it was – I read it during an InterRail trip last summer and it fit perfectly. While the dear old man had his adventures all over the world, I simultaneously had mine all over Europe! 😄

 

So those are my favourites. Can you tell I like long-ass titles? 😜

 

If you want to participate you can check out the Goodreads group here and you might also want to pay a visit to Lainey, who created this wonderful weekly happening.

Have a great day!

— Alina xx

Leave me your Thoughts

