The Ultimate Book Tag

This tag was created by the “Chapter Chicks” and I’ve recently discovered it and since it basically covers all the bases when it comes to books and bookish preferences I’ve decided to do it.

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Thankfully not! I have no idea what I would do if I’d get carsick while reading. Me and my parents have at least one trip a year which requires to sit in a car for at least eight hours so if I couldn’t read during this time I would go completely crazy!

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

I was thinking about this question a lot and it’s really hard to answer. My obvious choice would be J.K. Rowling because I love her style since it shows her joy of writing. But then I thought about authors I only recently discovered through the course of the past year and Brandon Sanderson popped into my mind. I read his “Mistborn Trilogy” and the “Alloy of the Law”, which is set in the same universe and I absolutely fell in love with his writing style. His world building is simply amazing and his characters have so much depth and aren’t plainly black and white, but have those grey areas to them that make them so relatable and human.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Harry Potter all the way!

Reason #1: It’s Harry freaking Potter!

Reason #2: It’s J.K. freaking Rowling!

Reason #3: Sparkling vampires? NO THANK YOU! (Which is also the reason I never read the series, so I can’t even pass real judgement on it.)

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books…)?

I don’t carry a book bag per se, no. I carry a bigger bag for when I go to Uni, which holds my laptop when I need it and all the things I need for my courses. But actually technically every bag I carry can be called “book bag” since my trusty kindle comes with me everywhere I go.

5. Do you smell your books?

Not all the time, no. I do however smell them when I newly bought them. New books just smell fantastic!

6. Books with or without little illustrations?

I love books that have little illustrations. I just finished “Ash” by Malinda Lo a couple of days ago and the first letters at the beginning of each chapter were beautifully illustrated. I really love that.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing? (Ex. I read Twilight before I read HP and thought the writing was amazing but read HP and now think Twilight is a little bit of a joke.)

I have been racking my brain to think about an answer for this question and I couldn’t come up with anything. I either like a book or I don’t and I’ve never experienced loving a book for it’s writing style and later changing my opinion of it.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Well it’s not a really funny story, but I remember when “Harry Potter” was first published me and a couple of my friends from school used to sit around during breaks and read the books and then discuss them later. We almost had a little competition going on of who could finish the book the quickest and we did that for every book of the series.

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

IMG_5081

The thinnest books on my shelf are “Quidditch through the Ages” and “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them” both by J.K. Rowling and “Roald Dahl’s Incredible Chocolate Box” by Roald Dahl.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

IMG_5084

The thickest books are my “Norton Anthologies of English Literature” and Stephen King’s “Under the Dome”.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

Aside from the posts I write for this blog, no I don’t do any writing. I have resigned myself to the fact that I’m not nearly creative enough to be producing quality pieces of literature.

12. When did you get into reading?

I’ve been surrounded by books all my life since both my mom and my stepdad read a lot, so I’ve been reading for as long as I can remember. And before I was able to read myself my mom used to read to me.

13. What is your favourite classic book?

My favourite classic is “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” by Lewis Carroll. It’s also my favourite book ever so much so that I’ve started collecting different editions of it.

14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

I’ve been always good at language arts yes. English and French were my best subjects in school. Latin not so much, but I’ve managed to get some decent grades in that as well. 😉 And aside from analysing poems and Goethe’s “Faust”, German literature and writing was also a subject I was very good in.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

Since I’m a very polite person most of the time I would do the polite thing and thank the person and then I would probably give the book away or donate it.

16. What is a lesser-known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

I don’t like to compare books to the “Harry Potter” or “The Hunger Games” series since both of those were unique in their own ways. However I read the first book in a new series a couple of months ago called “Fire and Flood” by Victoria Scott and I immediately had to think of “The Hunger Games”. It’s similar to that series with a splash of Pokémon thrown in there.

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while filming (or in my case – writing)?

Do all bad habits count here, or just in particular to books and writing? I’m gonna make them all count and say my worst habit is biting the skin around my nails. I do that ALL THE TIME.

18. What is your favourite word?

Somehow I can only think of curse words, since I tend to use those often! So if you’re offended by bad language you should skip ahead to the next question, because I’m gonna share my two favourites with you, which are “thundercunt” and “fuckstruck” (thank you Tumblr for expanding my cursing vocabulary!). I don’t use them a lot, but I freaking love them!

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb, or all of the above?

I had to google the word “dweeb” coz I’ve never heard that one before and I can safely say I’m not one of those. I also wouldn’t label myself a nerd or a dork. I’m me, and that’s it.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Oh that’s hard! Vampires are badass! But Fairies have this kind of mysterious mythical tough to them so I’m gonna go with Fairies.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Shapeshifters, hands down! It would be so awesome to be able to change your body and become something completely different.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Can I say neither? I don’t really care about either of them.

23. Zombies or Vampires?

Vampires! I grew up watching “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” so I have fond memories of awesomely evil Vampires and badass Vampire ass-kicking! Also Vampires scare me more than Zombies do.

24. Love Triangles or Forbidden Love?

Dear God, neither! There is nothing I hate more than Love Triangles, especially since most of them are so badly done! And the first thought that pops in my mind when I see Forbidden Love is Clary and Jace from “The Mortal Instruments” when it was believed that they’re sibling and I really, REALLY didn’t like that series!

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Referring to my previous answer of course badass action packed books with as few love scenes mixed in as possible!

Now you know a bit more about me and my bookish wants.

I hope you have a great week!

— Alina xx

Leave me your Thoughts

