Top 5 Wednesday – Top 5 Books Read So Far This Year

It’s time for another Top 5 Wednesday. This week’s topic is about the top five books you’ve read so far in 2014. I’ve read 32 books so far – not that many, but now that I’m done with university for the next three months I’m going to have lots of time to catch up on my reading. I didn’t have a hard time picking out my five favourites so far at all so without further ado – here we go:

 

#5: “Uglies” by Scott Westerfeld

24770

 

 

 

 

 

This is the first book in the “Uglies” series and it represents all four instalments. I absolutely loved this series. The story revolves around Tally Youngblood who lives in a world where at the age of 16 everybody has an operation that turns them from an ugly into a pretty. So everyone gets to be supermodel gorgeous – what could be wrong with that? Quite a lot actually! I really enjoyed this read and devoured the entire series in a matter of days.

 

#4: “Pawn” by Aimée Carter

19104975

 

 

 

 

 

This is book number one in “The Blackcoat Rebellion” series with the second novel coming out in November and I can’t freaking wait! I devoured this book. This society works with a ranking system, which goes from I to VII and in order to be ranked you have to take a test the day you turn 17. Our protagonist, Kitty Doe, gets ranked as a number III, but gets an offer she can’t refuse. This was an amazing and exciting book and you can read my review of it here.

 

#3: “Ready Player One” by Ernest Cline

12600138

 

 

 

 

 

This was the first Sci-Fi book I ever read and I loved it! 90% of the story are set in a virtual world called the “OASIS”, which is a place for people to escape to and pretend that their lives are good and perfect since reality actually pretty much sucks. After the creator of the OASIS dies a video of him announcing a contest is released. This contest takes place inside the OASIS and if you win you inherit his entire estate. The book is a bit hard to get into in the beginning, but once you passed the first 70-100 pages or so it is plain awesomeness! You can check out my review of it here.

 

#2: “Fire & Flood” by Victoria Scott

16069167

 

 

 

 

 

So this book is like “The Hunger Games” with Pokémon you say? – SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY! I finished this book about two hours ago and I really liked it. So much so that I really need to have the second book in this trilogy, like NOW, please. Tella gets an invitation to compete in the Brimstone Bleed, which is a race, and if she wins she gets the cure she needs to save her brothers life. It really is very similar to the premise of “The Hunger Games”, but if you love that trilogy as much as I do and if you enjoy fast-paced, exciting reads you should definitely pick this up!

 

#1: “Shadow and Bone” by Leigh Bardugo

10194157

 

 

 

 

 

This book, man! THIS BOOK! Actually these books, because “Shadow and Bone” is book one in the “Grisha” trilogy and recently I finished the second instalment “Siege and Storm” and I loved them both! Our main character is Alina Starkov (do you have ANY idea just how EXCITING it is for me to read a book with a main character who has my name? This is just so cool! *excited squealing*) who grows up in the land of Ravka and through saving her best friend she discovers that she is a Grisha, which are people with magical powers. I cannot wait to get my hands on book number three! The whole world of this series is so wonderful and the characters are amazingly written and you should all read this series. Yes! If you want you can read my review here.

 

If you haven’t already figured it out there is a theme going on here – it’s dystopian/fantasy/sci-fi year for me. So far I haven’t read a lot of contemporary or adult fiction books – I think only about five or six. This is quite unusual for me because I actually love those reads and for the past years would read nothing but those kinds of books. But apparently I had to turn 25 to discover that the YA genre and especially the YA fantastical, sciency (yeah I know that’s not a word but I’m making it one!) dystopian genre is actually freaking amazing!

If you want to participate in T5W you can check out the Goodreads group here and you might also want to pay a visit to Lainey, who is the creator of this awesome weekly happening.

— Alina xx

Leave me your Thoughts

