“Throne of Glass” by Sarah J. Maas

15713880Rating: 4/5

Title: Throne of Glass

Series: Throne of Glass

Author: Sarah J. Maas

First Published: May 7, 2012

 

“Names are not important. It’s what lies inside you that matters.”

 

This book was surrounded by so much hype that I was initially reluctant to pick it up because usually I tend to end up disliking many of the books that are so popular from the get go. This was thankfully not the case with “Throne of Glass”. I devoured this book in one sitting. It was impossible to put down.

Celeana Sardothien, an infamous assassin, is a slave in the gruesome mines of Endovier. One day the prince of Ardalan comes and makes her an offer she can’t refuse. If she acts as the King’s assassin for four years she is granted her freedom after those four years are over. She agrees and with a new identity she moves to the Glass Castle to participate in a competition with 23 other contenders for the “job”. The competition last several months and over the course of these months Celeana trains hard and regains much of her former strength. A lot of schemes and power plays of the nobility and the cruel sovereignty of the king of Ardalan frame the story. Throw in a big chunk of magic and you’ve got a kick-ass high fantasy novel.

Initially the main character Celeana was very stiff and I was wondering if I was even going to like her, but when she opened her mouth and the snark basically poured out of her I immediately wanted her to be my best friend. As the story unfolds we gradually learn more about her and she quickly became one of my favourite protagonists of all time. Until the very end of the book we keep discovering new information about her and this adds a lot to her depths in character. She keeps evolving and even though I have no way of imagining what it would be like to live her life and experience the things she does I found myself connecting with her nevertheless.

Originally I wasn’t very excited about the love triangle forming between Celeana, Prince Dorian and Chaol, the captain of the Guard and Dorian’s best friend. After all we all know how I feel about love triangles (small hint: I HATE THEM!). This one wasn’t that badly done however. Celeana is not your standard air-headed girl and the triangle didn’t turn into the common testosterone match between the boys. In addition it wasn’t turned into the focus of the book and ended quite interestingly. So, rather unbelievably, I found a love triangle I really approve of.

If you are a fan of high fantasy and amazing female lead characters and you haven’t picked up this book yet – DO IT! The world building is fantastic, as are the characters and their development. The romance is well written, there is a bit of magic, a whole lot of snark and freaking awesome fight scenes. All in all “Throne of Glass” is a fantastic read!

— Alina xx

Leave me your Thoughts

