Top 5 Wednesday – Books You Devoured

So I decided to do a Top 5 Wednesday post because I really like this week’s topic. I don’t think this will be a regular thing, but I do think I will participate from time to time, depending on the topic. This week it’s all about the top 5 books you devoured. Now I had a really hard time narrowing this list down to just five books since there were a lot of books I read in one sitting so I decided to go for the ones I read quite recently. This decision was also so I wouldn’t just say HARRY POTTER, because let’s face it – Harry Potter is the answer to ALL the questions.

 

#5: “Uglies” by Scott Westerfeld

24770

“Uglies” is book number one in a trilogy and it’s set in a dystopian world in which everyone is turned into a “Pretty” by means of extreme cosmetic surgery when they turn 16. The story speaks about high-profile government conspiracies and the dangers of living in a world where everything you do is monitored while it also greatly condemns war and all its side effects. This will always be one of my favourite series and “Uglies” one if my favourite books.

 

#4: “Pawn” by Aimée Carter

10838787

This is book number one in the “Blackcoat Rebellion” series. This was such a great and fast-paced read! It’s another dystopian, but for the 987654323456’s book in its genre this was surprisingly refreshing and original. In this world everyone at the age of 17 has to take a test, which basically will determine the rest of their lives. People are ranked from numbers I to VII, and the higher the number you end up getting after your test the better your life will be. I really enjoyed this book a lot and I NEED THE SEQUEL TO BE MINE! Like right now please!

 

#3: “Stir-Fry” by Emma Donoghue

19965193

This is a coming of-age-story about a naïve 17-year-old girl called Maria who moves from rural Ireland to go to university in Dublin and accidentally moves in with a lesbian couple. As a consequence she starts to explore her own sexuality as well as learning a lot of new things about people since she previously was only exposed to her family. I’m not usually a fan of coming-of-age stories but this was a fun, quick and light-hearted read and I really enjoyed it. Also the fact that the characters weren’t always very likable is a huge plus because it made the story that much more realistic.

 

#2: “Ready Player One” by Ernest Cline

12600138

“Ready Player One” is a Science-Fiction novel that is set in the year 2044 and deals with the people’s flight from reality. After the earth’s supply of fossil fuels is exhausted the world is in a sate of constant unrest. Wars are fought and diseases break out all over the planet and to escape their unhappy lives people spend most of their time in an online simulation called the “OASIS”. After his death the creator of this simulation released a video saying that he is hosting a contest to find a golden egg, which he hid deep inside the OASIS and whoever finds it will inherit his entire estate. I really thoroughly enjoyed this book! The world building was incredible and the characters were phenomenal!

 

#1: “The Dark Wife” by Sarah Diemer

11672159

This is a retelling of the Greek myth of Persephone and Hades and it is probably one of my favourite LGBT reads of all time! The reason I love this so much is because most commonly books that have a gay or lesbian main character are always coming-out-stories or the characters have to struggle with and learn how to “handle” their sexuality. It’s always some kind of “issue” book. I’m not saying those books are bad – not at all! Those books are important too, I think, but I found it refreshingly wonderful to read a story in which the main characters are lesbians and not once is that fact being pointed out like “OMFG look at them *finger pointing* they gay”. It’s not once being commented on and represented as something that is not of the norm and the fact that a book like this exists which at the same time happens to be a retelling of one of my favourite Greek myths makes me squeal with joy!

 

If you want to participate you can check out the Goodreads group here and you might also want to pay a visit to Lainey, the creator of this wonderful weekly happening.

— Alina xx

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Books You Devoured

  1. Great list! I read Uglies some years ago and have always meant to do a re-read. Ready Player One has been on my TBR list for a while now. I’ll have to give it a bump up. 🙂

    Like

Leave me your Thoughts

