The first step to Recovery is admitting you have a Problem…

Urban Dictionary defines the term “bookaholic” as someone who keeps buying books to add to a stack of unread books.

Hello, my name is Alina and I am a bookaholic.

Recently I cleaned my bookshelves and did some reorganising and while doing so I counted all my unread books. I probably shouldn’t have done that, because the number is pretty high. I own 94 unread books. And by the end of this week it’s going to be an even 100 because I’m waiting on 6 books to arrive, which I ordered last week. Triple digits. Yay. 😱

You’d think that this number would maybe stop me from continuing to acquire new books, but that is not the case. It seems I have a serious problem. Every time I enter a bookshop I can’t help but leave with at least one new book (but if we’re being honest – it’s always more than just one). If I get bored, I go through my wishlist on Amazon, which has reached terrifying proportions and always end up ordering one or two books off the list. I keep buying books faster than I can read them and I honestly think that I will never be able to get through my TBR pile.

I tried putting myself on a book-buying ban, but that endeavour misfired terribly. I wanted to go half a year without buying any new books to give me the opportunity to get my TBR pile down to a more reasonable size but consciously denying myself the delightful pleasure of obtaining a fancy new book made me want it even more and after three weeks I went on a rampage and bought half of the stock of the local bookstore. Conclusion – I’m never going to try a book-ban ever again. That would just unnecessarily hurt my wallet.

Another rather disturbing side effect of my excessive book buying is the fact that I’m slowly running out of space. I have a lot of space so running out of it is quite an accomplishment. There would be a simple solution to this, which would be to sort through my personal library and give some of the books away or sell them. That however is something I can’t do. I get very attached to my books and it would break my heart if I had to get rid of some of them. When I was 14 or 15 years old I got rid of a lot of books from my childhood to make room for new ones and I greatly regret that decision. So much so that I’m planning on re-buying two of my favourite series from when I was young.

Essentially my problem would be easily fixable, but that would require for me to exert some self-control and when it comes to books I don’t seem to possess any of that. So I’m just going to continue buying books and adding to my TBR. As long as I don’t trip over the stacks on my floor and break my neck, it seems to me that owning too many books is a rather wonderful problem to have.

— Alina xx

Leave me your Thoughts

